How Do I Write One Of These?

Nothing can quite compare to the mentally draining task of beginning a piece of writing such as this. To make matters worse, this is my first post; the beginning of the beginning. Do I start with the obligatory, relatable rhetorical question that heightens the interest of the reader? How formal should I be? Am I interesting? This is proving to be much more difficult than initially anticipated.

Now, let’s make my first blog post sound less like an advice letter on how to write a blog post (which no doubt would go down a treat on here). To start, I would like to first mention my inspiration for starting a blog and some information about me. Well, my name is Anthony, I’m 18 years old and I’m also a future English student at the University of Liverpool, starting in September 2017. I did start University this year as a law student, but after months of gruelling contemplation, I decided to pursue my real passion – English. Ever since my primary school days, I was obsessed with writing. I even took it as far as using my indoor play-time to write poems and short stories. It’s safe to say  I wasn’t the most interesting child at my school. Now, because I changed my university course so late in the first semester, I have to wait until next year to start English. So I’m now at the beginning of an unexpected gap year.

13912385_10207429158352015_5536568176001250472_n

The mind does not wander when thinking of things to do on a gap year that prepares someone for an English degree and a subsequent career in the vast field that surrounds English. I already have a inconclusive reading list of classics, such as, ‘A Clockwork Orange,’ and, ‘Animal Farm’ and I am aiming to discover some helpful textbooks on beginning degree-level English. I also read online about starting a blog; it bodes well for writers in the future and enables you to get familiar with this genre of writing. I also read that the best type of blogs are travel blogs. From the travel writing I analysed during A Level English Language and Literature, I knew that no ordinary two-day city break would be seen as interesting enough to require an entire blow-by-blow daily diary entry. So I thought to myself, why not go on a proper trip. We’re not talking the extreme – there will be no living out of a backpack in the middle of the South America. At this moment in time, the plans I have for travel in 2017 before I embark on my real adventure, studying English at university, is flying to Paris for a few days, seeing everything I possibly can, absorbing all the culture and life of the French capital like a sponge. From this point on, I will drive through the countryside of France and into Belgium and then eventually coming to a stop in Amsterdam. Although these plans will most likely be altered, I am looking forward to documenting my experiences along the way.

Until I embark on my trip, I thought I could post about other things that interest me. These posts will probably be about art I am fascinated by, whether that be paintings, literature or film, or about my everyday experiences of life that I can share and document here.

Well, I think that’s all I have to say for my little introduction. Here’s to many more posts in the not-too-distant future.

Thanks for reading!

Anthony Marshall

 

 

Author: anthonymarshallblog

English student at the University of Liverpool, 2017.

3 thoughts on “How Do I Write One Of These?”

  1. Hey Anthony!

    Welcome to blogging 🙂

    I’d love to invite you to submit a short piece to my blog. I think your perspective and style of writing would be a perfect piece for my project.

    It’d also be a great way to get your blog/writing out there.

    Please feel free to email me (jennifer@youngandtwenty) with more questions, or take a look at the ‘BEING Young & Twenty’ page on my blog.

    I hope I’ll hear from you 🙂

    Jennifer

    youngandtwenty.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

